Resolutions – love them or hate, it’s that time

Yup it’s that time of year again.  Time to establish your resolutions for the new year! Who do you want to be and what do you want to accomplish by the end of the year?  Cue the groaning and moaning.  

I admit I am someone who has set personal resolutions some years and usually I fail to achieve them.  Truthfully I forget about them because I put little thought into setting them and even less thought into accomplishing them.  This year I am going to try a different tactic.  Since I am committing these to “paper” in a public format perhaps this year will be different.  Perhaps.  I’ll measure that in twelve months.

This year I am keeping it simple. I only have two resolutions, both are personal goals, and they both follow the SMART guidelines (specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and timely).

1. Walk 10,000 steps a day at least 4 days a week.  This appears simple and many will laugh at this goal.  The fact is that I sit at my desk or in my car the majority of the day and it is not uncommon for me to have only logged 3,000 steps by 5 pm on a week day.  The reason I picked 4 days is that will hopefully make get more active during the work week.  I have the tools I need:  a good pedometer (I love my fitbit), a great app for tracking, an Ipod full of good music and a treadmill for the cold days of winter. I can do this!! (I think… I hope….)  If you are a member of Earndit.com look me and we can be challenge buddies.

2. Write an average of one blog per week.  (You knew this was coming, right?) The reason I am blogging is to rediscover my voice and that won’t happen unless I write.  My blogs will not be related to hard-hitting news, they will not have a huge impact on the business community.  They will be my observations and thoughts on a variety of topics. They may be stories about my kids.  You’ll just have to keep reading to find out what I have to say. 

Keep me honest, ask me how I am doing with my goals periodically!  Sometimes I need a push (or shove) to stay on track.  Now it’s your turn, did you make any resolutions for 2014?  What are they?

One comment

  1. […] Resolutions – love them or hate, it’s that time (workingmommusings.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Lady Goo Goo Gaga

This is not my mother's motherhood…..

Literature and Libation

Through it all, your spirit's alive

Kids 'R' Simple

A simple mum who believes in giving her children the ability to enjoy simple things in life…

