Cheers to Texting!

With social media infiltrating almost every second of our lives these days there are more articles and studies being done about how many people don’t communicate as well as previously, at least in terms of face to face or verbal communications.  To some degree we have lost a bit of the art of in-person socializing.  (yes I am generalizing here)  People delight in sharing where they ate, exercised, attended a movie, how they rated a book, or when hung out with which friends where.  People overshare on pretty much every topic – of that there is no doubt!   True example which perfectly demonstrates my point- I have a neighbor who shared with the world when her epidural was put in last week.  While I am interested in knowing when your new bundle of joy arrives, I don’t need to be a party to the events taking place in your labor & delivery room!

According to an article by Jeffrey Kluger called “We never talk any more: The problem with text messaging” on CCN.com back in September 2012.   Straight from the article “Americans ages 18-29 send and receive an average of nearly 88 text messages per day, compared to 17 phone calls. The numbers change as we get older, with the overall frequency of all communication declining, but even in the 65 and over group, daily texting still edges calling 4.7 to 3.8. In the TIME mobility poll, 32% of all respondents said they’d rather communicate by text than phone, even with people they know very well. This is truer still in the workplace, where communication is between colleagues who are often not friends at all. “No more trying to find time to call and chit-chat,” is how one poll respondent described the business appeal of texting over talking.”  Holy Moley- that is a lot of texts!  I don’t fall in the prime age category indicated in this article anymore but I agree with the poll results.  Even my 70 year old sometimes technology-challenged dad is on board with texting (when he remembers to turn his cell phone on that is).  I still have to remind him that he doesn’t need to “sign” his texts by saying “from dad” at the end!

I admit I love text messaging because it saves me time-it only take a few seconds to type a quick message to notify that I am running late or to buy milk on the way home.  It would take at least a few minutes to do that over the phone once you complete the dialing, ringing, and cordial pleasantries and goodbyes that are customarily exchanged, you’ve used a good 3-4 minutes.   And let’s face it 8 out of 10 times the person on the other side of the phone doesn’t pick up anyway because they don’t want to talk to you- they want a text!   I truly value the ability to text and not just for the time saving convenience of it.  I value it as it allows my husband and I to “chat” during the day when we are both at work.  Nope my marriage has not been benefited by sexting -my personal opinion is that the gov’t is spying on us, including our texts.  They are probably just waiting to catch a few sexts in the mix.  I don’t feel like sharing my ta-ta’s with some pimply-faced twenty-something surveillance geek who works for the CIA, NSA or other acronymed gov’t agency of record (or unrecorded agency- maybe it is the MIB who are spying on us!)

We both work in open cubicle-filled work spaces.  The days of any kind of privacy at work are gone.  It is fun to send messages back and forth.  In many ways it feels like we are flirting again, which adds a new fun energy into our relationship.  I find myself laughing out loud at things he says.  And we debated the name of our yet to yet-to-happen possible future new canine family member via a text exchange!  It is keeping us in touch during the day when we can’t sit on the phone and chat.  Sometimes we chat more via text than we do the first few hours we are home at night when we are trying to have dinner, do homework, give baths, read bedtime stories and hopefully exercise.  Sad but true.

I think my cell phone understands this as well.  My phone is almost two years old and I have to say that cell phones just aren’t made like they used to be.  I usually have no problem sending texts or using the 4G features it was made for that are not necessary to my daily existence but are nice to haves, however it continually craps out on me when I try to use it to actually make a phone call!!  I have to restart my phone in order to dial it!  I think this is the universe’s way of telling me it is time to stop talking and keep on texting!

Cheers to texting!

2 comments

  1. Those statistics are interesting. I think I get about 4 texts a day and even fewer phone calls. But then again I’m way over that age bracket, too.

    And my phone is many years older than yours, but I still get the features I know how to use so I’m hanging on to it. Less of a learning curve that way. Old dog, new trick and all.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  2. I am definitely a texter not a caller. 🙂 I try to put my phone away when hanging out with others, but when I get a moment alone (that’s funny since I have a 2 year old) I am on my phone the whole (5 minutes) time!

Leave a Reply

Lady Goo Goo Gaga

This is not my mother's motherhood…..

Literature and Libation

Through it all, your spirit's alive

Kids 'R' Simple

A simple mum who believes in giving her children the ability to enjoy simple things in life…

